- Why There Is No Published CGCM Pass Rate
- What ICHCC Does Publish About Scoring
- Reading the Cut Score of 72 Correctly
- How the Questions Are Built
- Where Candidates Really Get Filtered: Eligibility and Training
- Fees and Proctoring Mechanics
- The Seven Preparation Areas That Drive Outcomes
- Where Candidates Likely Lose Points
- A Domain-Ordered Plan
- Retakes, Renewal, and the Cost of Not Passing
- Frequently Asked Questions
- ICHCC does not disclose a CGCM pass rate in the public materials reviewed, so any specific percentage you see online is unverified.
- The published CGCM cut score is 72 within a standard-score protocol, not a confirmed 72% raw-correct threshold.
- Exam items are multiple-choice case scenarios with three distractors and one correct choice.
- Initial eligibility requires 40 approved training hours, relevant qualifications, and one year of gerontology experience.
Why There Is No Published CGCM Pass Rate
Search for the Certified Geriatric Care Manager pass rate and you will find confident-sounding figures on forums and aggregator sites. None of them trace back to ICHCC, the certifying body. In the official materials reviewed for this article (the credential page, the September 2026 application, and the ICHCC Practice Standards and Guidelines), no cohort pass rate is stated.
That absence matters. A pass rate is a ratio of candidates who passed to candidates who sat the exam, and it only means something if you know who was counted: first-time takers, repeat takers, or both. Without a published denominator, any number you read is a guess presented as data. This article therefore does something more useful than repeating a statistic: it shows what the official documents do establish, and what that implies about how hard the exam is to pass.
For a broader look at difficulty without leaning on a pass-rate figure, see our guide on how hard the CGCM exam is, and the companion piece on the CGCM passing score.
What ICHCC Does Publish About Scoring
While the pass rate is absent, the scoring framework is not entirely opaque. The September 2026 ICHCC Practice Standards, in the section covering examinations, state the following about the CGCM:
- All ICHCC certification exams use multiple-choice case scenarios, each with three distractors and one correct choice.
- The CGCM is scored under a norm-referenced standard-score protocol.
- The published CGCM cut score is 72.
| Item | Status in Reviewed ICHCC Materials |
|---|---|
| Cohort pass rate | Not publicly disclosed |
| Cut score | 72, within a standard-score protocol |
| Question format | Multiple-choice case scenarios, three distractors, one correct choice |
| Current question count | Unverified |
| Scored vs. unscored split | Unverified |
| Exam duration | Unverified |
| Official domain weights | Not published in reviewed materials |
Notice how many cells say "unverified." That is not a gap in this article; it reflects the public record. Candidates should treat any claim of a specific question count or time limit as unconfirmed until ICHCC states it directly.
Reading the Cut Score of 72 Correctly
The most common misreading of the CGCM is to treat "72" as "72 percent of questions correct" or "72 out of 100 questions." The published standards do neither. They describe a cut score of 72 inside a standard-score protocol, which is a different thing.
What a standard score means for you
In a standard-score system, raw performance is converted to a scaled scale. The cut score marks the point on that scale that separates passing from non-passing. Because the conversion is not published, you cannot back out how many items you must answer correctly. A candidate who answers a particular number of questions correctly on one exam form could land at a slightly different scaled value on another form if the forms differ in difficulty.
Key Takeaway
Do not study to a "72% target." Study to consistent, reasoned accuracy across all seven areas, because the raw-correct number behind a scaled 72 is not public. Our page on the CGCM passing score goes deeper on this distinction.
It also means that practice-test percentages are directional rather than predictive. If you score well on well-written scenario questions, that is encouraging evidence of readiness, but it cannot be mapped onto the scaled cut score with precision. Use practice results to find weak areas, not to forecast a number.
How the Questions Are Built
The format is the part of the CGCM that is best documented, and it shapes how you should prepare. Each item is a case scenario with four options: one correct answer and three distractors. In a geriatric care management setting, that usually means you are reading a short situation about an older adult, a family, or a care setting and choosing the best professional response.
Scenario items reward judgment over recall. Several options will often look defensible. The distinction is typically about sequence (what a care manager does first), scope (what is and is not within the care manager's role), and priority (client safety and autonomy versus family preference). Practicing with realistic scenario-based practice questions trains that kind of discrimination far better than memorizing definitions.
Habits that suit a three-distractor scenario format
Because every question has one best answer among plausible alternatives, build these habits:
- Identify who the client is before evaluating any option; in care management, the client and the person paying are not always the same.
- Look for the option that assesses before it acts, since assessment typically precedes intervention.
- Eliminate answers that overstep professional scope or remove the client's voice without justification.
- Treat absolute language ("always," "never") in an option with suspicion unless the scenario clearly demands it.
Where Candidates Really Get Filtered: Eligibility and Training
Because no pass rate is published, it helps to recognize that a large share of the "filtering" in this credential happens before exam day. You cannot sit the exam without meeting ICHCC's prerequisites, which means the population that does sit it has already cleared a professional bar.
According to the live credential page and the current-linked September 2026 application, which agree with each other, candidates need:
- 40 approved training hours in gerontology-related content.
- Relevant professional or educational qualifications, as described on the credential page.
- One year of gerontology experience.
Older materials referenced a 120-hour training figure; the current application supersedes it, so disregard any source quoting 120 hours. Those 40 hours are an eligibility requirement, not an exam timer, and should not be confused with how long the test itself runs. Full eligibility details are covered in our CGCM requirements guide, and the training side is discussed on our CGCM training page.
Fees and Proctoring Mechanics
The September 2026 application lists a $495 examination/application fee and a separate $30 fee for Prov proctoring. The application does not state a member versus non-member split, so budget for the full amounts unless ICHCC says otherwise. The exam is delivered through remote proctoring identified in the public application as ProvExams.
| Cost Element | Amount | Notes |
|---|---|---|
| Examination/application fee | $495 | September 2026 application; no member/non-member split stated |
| Prov proctoring fee | $30 | Separate from the exam fee |
| Renewal, preapproved education route | $300 | Every three years |
| Renewal, review route | $350 | Every three years |
| Renewal, re-examination route | $795 | Every three years |
The earlier $445 figure circulated in older sources is superseded by the current application. Because the exam is remotely proctored, plan your testing environment in advance, and check the open-book, calculator, and adaptive-testing policies directly with ICHCC, since these remain unverified in the public materials. A fuller financial picture appears in our CGCM certification cost breakdown, and scheduling information is on the CGCM exam dates page.
The Seven Preparation Areas That Drive Outcomes
ICHCC does not publish an official weighted blueprint in the reviewed materials. What it does publish is the set of seven required gerontology training areas. These are the best available guide to preparation scope, with an important caveat: they are unweighted, and no domain is verified as the largest. Treat them as equal in importance until ICHCC says otherwise. A deeper walkthrough is in our CGCM exam domains guide.
1. Geriatric Care Management and Case Management Methodology and Concepts
The professional foundation: what a geriatric care manager does and how the case management process is structured.
- Role definition and scope of practice
- Phases of the case management process from intake through reassessment
2. Functional and Psychological Aspects of Aging
How aging affects daily functioning, cognition, and mood, and how that changes care needs.
- Functional decline and its impact on independence
- Psychological and cognitive changes that influence decision-making
3. Client/Patient Assessment
Gathering and interpreting information to understand a client's situation holistically.
- Comprehensive assessment of needs, strengths, and supports
- Recognizing what an assessment reveals versus what still needs clarification
4. Ethical, Legal, and Financial Issues in Older Adult Care Management
The boundaries and obligations that govern professional conduct and client decisions.
- Ethical dilemmas involving autonomy, safety, and family conflict
- Legal and financial considerations that shape care options
5. Late Life Relocation, Facility Living, and Placement Issues
Guiding clients and families through moves and facility-based care.
- Evaluating levels of care and living arrangements
- Supporting adjustment and managing the emotional weight of relocation
6. Care Planning, Technology, and Ongoing Care Monitoring
Turning assessment into an actionable plan and keeping it current.
- Building and revising care plans as conditions change
- Using technology and monitoring to track outcomes
7. Working in Different GCM Settings and Private Practice
How the work differs across employment contexts, including running an independent practice.
- Differences between agency, healthcare, and private-practice roles
- Practice-management considerations for independent care managers
Where Candidates Likely Lose Points
Since no item-level performance data is public, the following is editorial reasoning about the structure of the exam rather than reported statistics. Scenario-based tests tend to expose gaps in judgment more than gaps in memory, so the areas most likely to trip candidates are those where the "right" answer depends on weighing competing values.
Ethics and the autonomy-versus-safety tension
The ethical, legal, and financial domain is where several plausible answers coexist. A family may want a parent placed in a facility while the older adult wishes to remain at home. The best response usually honors the client's expressed wishes and capacity while addressing safety through assessment and planning, but the scenario details decide it. Candidates who default to "do what the family asks" or "do what is safest regardless of preference" often choose a distractor.
Sequencing assessment before action
In the assessment and care planning areas, many wrong answers are actions that are reasonable in themselves but premature. Practice asking, "What does the care manager need to know before taking this step?" That question separates the correct option from the attractive distractor.
Placement and transition nuance
Relocation and facility living questions test whether you understand the emotional and practical dimensions of a move, not just the menu of facility types. Answers that address the client's adjustment and involve them in the process tend to be stronger than those focused only on logistics.
A Domain-Ordered Plan
One short, CGCM-specific sequencing idea: start with the foundation, then move to the judgment-heavy areas while your recall is fresh, and finish with the setting-specific material. The order below reflects how the topics build on one another, not any official weighting.
Foundations
- Geriatric care management and case management methodology
- Functional and psychological aspects of aging
Assessment and planning
- Client/patient assessment
- Care planning, technology, and ongoing monitoring
Judgment-heavy areas
- Ethical, legal, and financial issues
- Late-life relocation, facility living, and placement
Settings and integration
- Different GCM settings and private practice
- Mixed scenario practice across all seven areas
Use the final week for mixed scenarios rather than domain-by-domain drilling, since the real exam will not group items by topic. A one-page refresher such as our CGCM cheat sheet can help with last-minute review, and you can rehearse the format with full-length CGCM practice tests.
Retakes, Renewal, and the Cost of Not Passing
Because the pass rate is unknown, it is worth thinking about downside risk in practical terms. A failed attempt means additional fees and delay, so the economics favor thorough preparation over optimism. Confirm ICHCC's current retake policy directly, as it was not detailed in the materials reviewed.
Once certified, the credential is valid for three years. The September 2026 standards confirm 15 renewal hours over that period, including five ethics hours. A stray 30-hour sentence on the live credential page is not supported by the current standards, so rely on the 15-hour figure. Renewal can be completed through preapproved education ($300), a review route ($350), or re-examination ($795). Whether the credential justifies the total investment is explored in our CGCM worth-it analysis, with earnings context in the CGCM salary guide and employer information on the CGCM jobs page.
Frequently Asked Questions
ICHCC does not publish a pass rate in the official materials reviewed for this article. Any specific percentage you encounter elsewhere is unverified, and may belong to an entirely different credential that shares the CGCM acronym.
No. The ICHCC standards publish a cut score of 72 within a norm-referenced standard-score protocol. That is not a verified 72% raw-correct threshold or a requirement of 72 out of 100 questions.
ICHCC states that its certification exams use multiple-choice case scenarios with three distractors and one correct choice. The current question count, scored/unscored split, and time limit are not verified in the public materials.
The September 2026 application lists a $495 examination/application fee plus a separate $30 Prov proctoring fee. No member or non-member split is stated. Older figures such as $445 are superseded.
The current application and credential page both indicate 40 approved training hours, relevant professional or educational qualifications, and one year of gerontology experience. The older 120-hour statement is no longer current.