CGCM logo
Focused certification exam prep
Start practice

What Is CGCM?

TL;DR
  • CGCM stands for Certified Geriatric Care Manager, a credential issued through ICHCC for professionals who coordinate care for older adults.
  • Eligibility currently requires 40 approved training hours plus relevant qualifications and one year of gerontology experience.
  • The exam uses multiple-choice case scenarios: three distractors, one correct answer, and a published cut score of 72 in a standard-score protocol.
  • The application lists a $495 exam fee plus a separate $30 Prov proctoring fee for online proctored delivery.

What the CGCM Credential Actually Is

CGCM stands for Certified Geriatric Care Manager. It is a professional certification for people who assess, plan, coordinate, and monitor care for older adults and their families. A geriatric care manager (sometimes called an aging life care professional or care coordinator) acts as a guide through the maze of health, housing, legal, financial, and family decisions that surround late life.

The credential signals that a practitioner has completed required gerontology-focused training, meets experience and qualification standards, and has passed a certification examination built around realistic case scenarios. It is not an entry-level knowledge quiz about aging in general. It tests whether you can make sound judgments the way a working care manager must: weighing a client's functional status, family dynamics, finances, safety, and wishes at the same time.

If you are comparing terms you may have seen online, our related explainers cover what CGCM stands for and the meaning of CGCM in more detail. This article focuses on the credential itself: what it requires, how the exam works, and what the work looks like.

Identity check: The letters CGCM are used by several unrelated credentials in other industries. Everything on this page refers only to the Certified Geriatric Care Manager credential in aging and care management. If a source discusses construction, grants, or any other field, it is describing a different certification.

Who Issues It and How It Fits the Field

The CGCM is administered through ICHCC, which publishes the application, the practice standards and guidelines, and the credential information that candidates rely on. The 2026 practice standards describe how ICHCC certification examinations are constructed and scored, and they are the best public window into how the CGCM exam is designed.

Two features of that design matter for candidates:

  • Case-scenario multiple choice. The standards state that ICHCC certification exams use multiple-choice case scenarios with three distractors and one correct choice. You are choosing the best answer among four options inside a realistic situation, not reciting definitions.
  • A published cut score of 72. For the CGCM, the standards publish a cut score of 72 within a norm-referenced standard-score protocol. That is a scaled figure. It should not be read as 72 percent correct or 72 out of 100 questions. For more on how to interpret it, see our guide to the CGCM passing score.

Who Should Pursue This Credential

The CGCM fits professionals whose daily work involves coordinating care and decisions for older adults. Typical candidates include social workers, nurses, counselors, and other helping professionals who have moved into care management or who run or join a private geriatric care practice. It also suits professionals in senior living, health systems, and community agencies who want a recognized credential that documents their gerontology-specific training.

Whether the investment pays off depends on your setting, your clients, and how your employer or referral sources value credentials. We lay out that reasoning in Is the CGCM Certification Worth It? and discuss earning potential qualitatively in the CGCM salary guide.

Eligibility and the 40 Training Hours

The current credential page and the September 2026 application agree on the core requirements. A candidate needs:

  • 40 approved training hours in gerontology-focused content;
  • Relevant professional or educational qualifications; and
  • One year of gerontology experience.

Older materials referenced a 120-hour training figure. That statement has been superseded by the current application, so if you see 120 hours in an old forum thread or outdated handout, treat it as obsolete.

Training hours are not exam time: The 40 hours describe the education you complete before applying. They say nothing about how long the exam lasts. The exam duration and question count are not confirmed in the public materials reviewed, so check the live ICHCC page and your candidate instructions for current details.

For a fuller walk-through of qualifying backgrounds and documentation, see CGCM Requirements: Eligibility, Prerequisites and How to Qualify. Training options are discussed in our CGCM training overview.

Exam Format and Scoring

Here is what is verifiable from the published standards and application, and, just as important, what is not.

ElementWhat the public materials say
Question styleMultiple-choice case scenarios; three distractors, one correct choice
DeliveryOnline, remotely proctored (Prov proctoring identified in the application)
Cut score72, within a norm-referenced standard-score protocol
Raw-score meaning of 72Not verified; not stated as 72% or 72 of 100
Question count and scored/unscored splitNot verified in reviewed materials
Time limitNot verified in reviewed materials
Open-book, calculator, adaptive policiesNot verified in reviewed materials
Pass rateNot publicly disclosed in reviewed official materials

Because several logistics are unconfirmed, avoid building your plan around numbers you read elsewhere. Our articles on how hard the CGCM exam is and the CGCM pass rate explain what can and cannot be said responsibly given the public data.

What case-scenario questions reward

With three distractors and one correct choice, scenario questions often include several plausible-sounding options. The best answer typically reflects a sequence: assess first, involve the client, respect legal and ethical boundaries, and choose the least restrictive appropriate option. Candidates who jump straight to a placement or a service referral before assessment are the ones these items catch.

The Seven Required Training Areas

ICHCC requires training across seven gerontology topic areas. The public materials do not publish an official weighted exam blueprint, scored-domain count, or largest domain, so the seven areas below should be understood as unweighted preparation scope, not a percentage-by-percentage content outline. Treat them as the territory you must be comfortable covering. For a deeper tour, read the CGCM exam domains guide.

Domain 1: Geriatric Care Management and Case Management Methodology and Concepts

The professional foundation: what a geriatric care manager does and the process by which care management unfolds.

  • The care management cycle from intake through monitoring and review
  • Role boundaries and how care management differs from direct care or case work in other settings
  • Coordinating with families, physicians, and community providers

Domain 2: Functional and Psychological Aspects of Aging

How aging changes ability, mood, cognition, and daily functioning, and how those changes shape what clients need.

  • Functional limitations and their effect on safety and independence
  • Cognitive change, depression, anxiety, and distinguishing among them
  • Chronic illness, medications, and how they interact with function

Domain 3: Client/Patient Assessment

Gathering and interpreting information to understand a client's whole situation.

  • Assessing activities of daily living, home safety, health, and social supports
  • Using client, family, and professional input while keeping the client at the center
  • Turning assessment findings into identified problems and priorities

Domain 4: Ethical, Legal, and Financial Issues in Older Adult Care Management

Where many scenario questions get their difficulty, because the right answer depends on principles rather than recall.

  • Confidentiality, informed consent, and decision-making capacity
  • Autonomy versus safety, and managing family conflict without losing the client's voice
  • Legal tools and financial considerations affecting care choices

Domain 5: Late Life Relocation, Facility Living, and Placement Issues

Helping clients and families make, and live with, decisions about where care happens.

  • Matching level of care and setting to assessed needs and preferences
  • Transition planning and the emotional impact of relocation
  • Evaluating facilities and supporting adjustment after a move

Domain 6: Care Planning, Technology, and Ongoing Care Monitoring

Building a plan, putting it in motion, and keeping it current.

  • Translating assessment into a realistic, prioritized care plan
  • Using technology to support safety, communication, and monitoring
  • Follow-up, reassessment, and adjusting the plan as circumstances change

Domain 7: Working in Different GCM Settings and Private Practice

The practical realities of delivering geriatric care management in varied environments.

  • How practice differs across agencies, health systems, and independent practice
  • Business and professional considerations in private practice
  • Adapting your approach to the setting while keeping standards consistent

Registration, Fees, and Remote Proctoring

The September 2026 application lists the costs as follows:

  • $495 examination/application fee;
  • $30 separate Prov proctoring fee.

No member versus non-member price split is stated in the application, so you should not assume a discount exists. Earlier references to a $445 figure are superseded by the current application. The exam is delivered online with remote proctoring, which means preparing your testing environment and technology ahead of exam day matters nearly as much as preparing the content.

Key Takeaway

Budget for the $495 exam fee and the $30 proctoring fee together, then separately account for the cost of the 40 approved training hours. Our CGCM certification cost breakdown walks through the full picture, and CGCM exam dates covers scheduling.

Staying Certified: Renewal Rules

CGCM certification is valid for three years. The September 2026 practice standards confirm renewal requires 15 hours of continuing education over the three-year period, including five hours of ethics. The credential page contains a stray reference to a 30-hour requirement, but the current standards resolve that discrepancy in favor of 15 hours.

The listed renewal options and fees are:

Renewal routeListed fee
Preapproved education$300
Review$350
Re-examination$795

Plan your continuing education early in the cycle so the ethics hours do not become a last-minute scramble. Ethics is also a recurring thread in the exam itself, so those hours reinforce skills you will use throughout your career.

Where CGCMs Work

Certified geriatric care managers work in a wide range of settings, which is exactly why the seventh preparation area addresses working in different settings and private practice. Common employment and practice contexts include:

  • Private geriatric care management practices, serving families directly, often as the point person for long-distance caregivers;
  • Health systems and hospitals, supporting discharge planning and transitions;
  • Senior living communities and continuing-care settings, guiding residents and families through placement and changes in need;
  • Home care and community-based agencies, coordinating services around a client's home;
  • Elder law and financial planning practices, where care coordination complements legal and financial work.

Job titles vary, and a credential alone does not guarantee a role, but it can strengthen your standing with employers and referral sources who want verified training. Our CGCM jobs overview explores the employer landscape further.

Sequencing Your Preparation Around the Seven Areas

Since no official weighting is published, an even, scenario-driven approach is safest. The sequence below is an editorial suggestion, not an official blueprint. It builds from foundations toward the areas where scenario judgment is hardest.

Weeks 1-2

Foundations and Aging

  • Domain 1: care management process and role boundaries
  • Domain 2: functional and psychological aspects of aging
Weeks 3-4

Assessment and Planning

  • Domain 3: client assessment methods
  • Domain 6: care planning, technology, and monitoring
Weeks 5-6

Judgment-Heavy Areas

  • Domain 4: ethical, legal, and financial issues, practiced through scenarios
  • Domain 5: relocation, facility living, and placement
Week 7

Settings and Integration

  • Domain 7: settings and private practice
  • Mixed scenario sets that blend all seven areas

Practice with realistic case-scenario questions as early as you can, because the format rewards applied reasoning over memorization. You can try timed sets on our CGCM practice test platform, and our CGCM study guide builds a complete plan. For a last-minute scan of core facts, use the CGCM cheat sheet. If you are still deciding whether to begin, the overview of CGCM certification is a good companion read, and you can explore more at our main practice site.

Verify before you commit: Public materials leave the question count, time limit, and scored/unscored split unconfirmed. Confirm these details directly with ICHCC and your candidate instructions before exam day, and keep your preparation focused on the seven required training areas rather than on unverified numbers.

Frequently Asked Questions

What does CGCM stand for?

CGCM stands for Certified Geriatric Care Manager, a credential issued through ICHCC for professionals who assess, plan, coordinate, and monitor care for older adults. Other credentials share the acronym, but this article and site refer only to the geriatric care manager certification.

How many training hours do I need before applying?

The current credential page and the September 2026 application both require 40 approved training hours, along with relevant professional or educational qualifications and one year of gerontology experience. Older references to 120 hours are superseded.

How much does the CGCM exam cost?

The September 2026 application lists a $495 examination/application fee plus a separate $30 Prov proctoring fee. No member versus non-member price split is stated. Training costs are separate from these exam fees.

What score do I need to pass?

The practice standards publish a cut score of 72 within a norm-referenced standard-score protocol. This is not verified as 72 percent correct or 72 of 100 questions. The public materials reviewed also do not disclose a pass rate.

How long does the certification last and what does renewal involve?

Certification is valid for three years. Renewal requires 15 hours over that period, including five ethics hours. Listed renewal fees are $300 for preapproved education, $350 for review, or $795 for re-examination.

Ready to pass your CGCM exam?

Put this into practice with free CGCM questions across every exam domain.